2018 Sponsors' End of Season Dinner

2018 Sponsors' End of Season Dinner widnesvikings.co.uk

12th September 2018

All photographs courtesy of RLPIX.com. 


Widnes Vikings hosted their annual End of Season Dinner on Tuesday night, with Tom Olbison scooping the 2018 Stronghold Player of the Year.

Over 200 people including players, coaches, staff, volunteers, sponsors and Stronghold Members attended the evening at the Halton Stadium on a night where deserving winners claimed their awards. 

The first award of the evening was the ‘Club Person of the Year’ award, and was handed to Finance Controller, Niki Atherton, for her hard work and dedication over the past 12 months. 

Roger Harrison MBE was then deservedly handed the ‘One Club’ award for his superb voluntary contributions to the Club.  

For his longstanding contributions in the local community, Jordan Johnstone was awarded with the ‘Tony Bamber Memorial Cup’. 

After a sumptuous two-course meal, Harry Robertson, the hat-trick hero at Wembley recently for Wade Deacon, was handed the ‘Development Squad Player of the Year’.

Prop forward Owen Farnworth, after his performances in both the U19s and first team in 2018, was then handed the 2018 ‘Young Player of the Year’ award.

Long-serving forward MacGraff Leuluai was awarded with the ‘Players’ Player of the Year’ award for his consistent performances in 2018, making over 20 appearances for the Vikings. 

Tom Olbison picked up the final award of the night, unanimously claiming the 2018 ‘Stronghold Player of the Year’ after a strong showing this season from the back rower. 

Tom was presented with his award on the night by loyal supporter Pam Hall, who was the Club’s first ever Independent E-NRG Member of the Month back in July. Olly Ashall-Bott and Matt Whitley came in 2nd and 3rd place respectively. 

Across the evening, there was also insights from different aspects of the Club, to discuss the progress of their respective areas in 2018. 

This included an Academy update from Grant Gore, Ryan O’Brien and Kurtis Marsh after a successful year for the Club’s youth system. There was also an update from our Women’s and PDRL teams through Andy Sheridan and Richie O’Connell after a ground-breaking year for both teams. Lastly, departing trio, Chris Houston, Aaron Heremaia and Mick Cassidy gave their thoughts on their time at the Club.

The night finished with a personal message to the Club’s first team players and staff from the King, Kurt Sorensen. The King addressed the players and gave them an inspirational message ahead of this weekend’s huge game against Halifax RLFC.

The full awards are as follows:

Club Person of the Year - Niki Atherton

One Club Award - Roger Harrison MBE

Tony Bamber Memorial Cup - Jordan Johnstone

Development Squad Player of the Year - Harry Robertson

Young Player of the Year - Owen Farnworth

Players’ Player of the Year - MacGraff Leuluai

Stronghold Player of the Year - 1st. Tom Olbison 2nd. Olly Ashall-Bott 3rd. Matt Whitley

2018 Sponsors' End of Season Dinner widnesvikings.co.uk