Betts thanks departing players

Betts thanks departing players

19th September 2017

Widnes Vikings will be hosting an end of season lunch this afternoon for players, staff members and Club partners. This event provides an opportunity to thank and say goodbye to players who will be moving on from the Vikings at the end of the season.

Head Coach, Denis Betts, explains: “Naturally, every season sees new faces arrive and the departure of players who have contributed to our Club. At today’s event, we will have the opportunity to formally recognise those who are moving on at the end of this year.

"Chris Bridge and Eamon O’Carroll have hung up their boots, after distinguished careers in Rugby League. As has been previously announced, Manase Manuofakoa, Corey Thompson and Tom Armstrong will also be pursuing their playing careers elsewhere.

"Finally, Jack Buchanan will also be moving on from our Club. Whilst we offered Jack a contract extension that we felt recognised his value to the team, we were unfortunately unable to come to an agreement. Jack has been a great ambassador for the Vikings and an excellent player on the field, and he leaves with our respect.

"Everyone at Widnes Vikings wishes these players the very best for the next chapter of their lives. I know that all of these players will continue to dedicate themselves, as we look to secure our Super League status.

"The money from these departures has supported the Vikings to secure renewals of key players this year and offer professional terms to graduates of our Academy System. It has also enabled us to secure the services of Will Matthews and Sam Wilde, who are exciting additions to our squad. We are continuing to explore other opportunities to strengthen our team, as we plan for next season.”

Widnes Vikings end of season lunch will be shared via the Vikings Twitter, Facebook and Instagram social media feeds. The presentation of the Stronghold Player of the Year at the event will be broadcast live on Facebook – subscribe to our feed to watch the event. 

Betts thanks departing players